Tags

,

“There’s only one corner of the universe you can be certain of improving, and that’s your own self.” “Every man who knows how to read has it in his power to magnify himself, to multiply the ways in which he exists, to make his life full, significant and interesting.” — Aldous Huxley.  Most people who are successful today did not become successful by magic. What sets them apart from the less successful is that they made the extra effort to develop. Their growth engine was powered from within themselves. They were willing to invest time and energy in themselves.They were willing to go the extra mile to do their best.

Regular readers of this blog will remember the ” A Step A  Day” series of blog posts. In this very successful series, I wrote 365 posts, between November 2007 and December 2008, suggesting actions for self-development to professionals, young and old. Through this, I shared a development tip for each day of the year.

I am now toying with the idea of distilling my experience of over three and a half decades in working with people, initially as a corporate executive and later as an independent consultant, in the form of a book.

This will:

  • Have 52 ideas for personal and professional development which I consider “Critical For Success.”
  • Be adequately challenging, without being impossible to implement, allowing the reader to work on roughly a new idea in every week of the year.
  • The ideas will not be presented sequentially to give the reader opportunity to dip in and work on whatever might be of higher priority to him/her.
  • Be action-oriented with supportive formats which lend themselves to monitoring progress.

While the content is of course important, I am more excited about the writing style that I propose. This will not be a text book kind of tome with theories and management mumbo-jumbo thrown in. In keeping with my present occupation of being a full time writer, I plan to use the narrative non-fiction style to elicit principles from each of the stories I shall write. I believe this will make the book far more interesting for the reader.

These are initial thoughts which I hope to work on and flesh out in the next few months. Your suggestions are most welcome.

