Tags

, , ,

I don’t quite know who started the concept of ” carnivals” which translates to quick summaries and a collection of links to posts on a particular area such as Leadership or Human Resources. I am one who says that there is no end to learning and I would be very interested to learn more about how it all started. I do know, for example, The Evil HR Lady was one of the pioneers to put together this effective, shall I call it as the Swedish do, smorgasbord of learnings.

It’s like a well laid out buffet where you can eat to your heart’s content, adopting your own comfortable pace ( there’s enough and more for every one) and dipping in at random to the wide variety of posts arrayed before you. A readers as much as a gourmet’s delight.

I was delighted to find that one of my “7” series of career development steps caught the attention of Dan McCarthy at Great Leadership. My post on ” 7 Things Leadership Isn’t About” is one of the featured posts in the 4th Carnival of Leadership Development. I am honoured.

Once someone told me, “I thought you would be much more formal and serious. You write in a very simple way without any jargon.” I don’t know what he meant that to be, but I took it as a compliment. I believe simplicity is critical to achieve the objective of your communication- which is to make the other guy understand and not confuse the hell out of him.

There are many interesting posts in the 4th Carnival of Leadership. Drop in at leisure and take your pick. There is so much to learn from the posts there. What I also like about the “carnival ” is the fun element associated with one. I have always strongly felt that without fun, learning can be – and often is seen to be- a drudgery,

I have found these carnivals of considerable interest and value- I hope you will too.

You can subscribe to the A-Step-A-Day series using RSS at https://bprao.wordpress.com/category/a-step-a-day/feed

This is Post No: 305 of the “A Step A Day” series : To provide perspective and provoke thought to facilitate self-development across a wide spectrum of issues- big and small- crucial for executive success.

