The World Economic Forum (WEF) named 245 Young Global Leaders for 2008 from across the world to recognize their professional accomplishments, commitment to society and potential to contribute to shaping the future of the world.

The list includes 17 Indians:-

  1. GoAir managing director Jeh Wadia
  2. Market regulator SEBI’s executive director Sandeep Parekh
  3. Lok Sabha MP Sachin Pilot
  4. SKS Microfinance’s CEO and Founder Vikram K Akula
  5. Chairman of Bhatia Enterprises Sabeer Bhatia
  6. MD of Wipro Infrastructure Engineering Anurag Behar
  7. Senior NDTV journalist Barkha Dutt
  8. Global ITeS’ CEO and president Suhas Gopinath
  9. Director of PRS Legislative Research C V Madhukar
  10. Chairperson of Thermax Ltd Meher Pudumjee
  11. Music composer Allah Rakha Rahman
  12. Sitar player Anoushka Shankar
  13. Moser Baer India’s executive director Ratul Puri
  14. Adlabs Films’ director Pooja Shetty
  15. Petro Tiger founder and president Joseph Sigelman
  16. DLF Universal and DLF Retail’s managing director Pia Singh
  17. Founder and director of Association for Democratic Reform & Centre for Collective Development, Trilochan Sastry.

    As against 17 from India, there are 31 persons from China in the list.

    The World Economic Forum is a true multi-stakeholder community of global decision-makers. We need the Young Global Leaders to be a voice for the future in the global thought process and as a catalyst for initiatives in the global public interest, said Klaus Schwab, founder and executive chairman of the World Economic Forum .

    The young global leaders represents over 60 countries and includes the like of Larry Page and Sergey Brin, co-founders of search engine Google, Crown Prince Haakon of Norway, Hiroshi Nakada, Mayor of Yokohama, Japan, and Jack Ma Yun, chairman and chief executive officer, Alibaba Group, People’s Republic of China.

    All the individuals named are aged 40 years or younger.