Tags

, ,

If you haven’t yet heard of Wattpad, you might find these figures quite startling. There are 40 million stories to read and 25 million Wattpadders and growing. It describes itself as “the world’s largest community of readers and writers.” Wattpad says it ” is a place to discover and share stories: a social platform that connects people through words. It is a community that spans borders, interests, languages. With Wattpad, anyone can read or write on any device: phone, tablet, or computer.”

I chose to publish my latest novel, “Let The Dead Stay Dead” on Wattpad. I shall write about my experience here over time. What attracted me to Wattpad is that gives me, as an author, access to a huge pool of potential readers. I asked myself what I wanted to achieve as a writer. What did I expect out of my writing work which comprise mainly novels? Was it money? Was it fame? I realized that at this stage of my life, it wasn’t money or the fame, it was to share all that I had written with a larger audience, and leave it up to them to decide whether they liked what I wrote.

Since 2010, I have been a full time writer. I have earlier had two novels published in the traditional way, and have had an anthology of short stories published as an ebook on Smashwords. The use of Wattpad was new to me, and seemed to be a trend of the future.

With book publishing businesses struggling to stay afloat, by and large, Wattpad is a winner because all that you read is for free. You heard that right. Yes, you don’t pay a cent for reading the thousands of books listed which you can read on-line on your computer, tablet or increasingly nowadays on your cell phone.

So, if you haven’t experienced Wattpad so far, why not try it out?  I would be keen on hear of your experience.

